Moving On

It was the end of December 2008 when the first “Where the Fatdog Walks” blog took a tentative step into the world of social media. I think it’s fair to say that FD and I “had a good run” over the next three and a half years.

With the loss of Maisie in 2012 it was always going to be difficult to replicate the blogging highs of those 3+ years but with the arrival of Mabel and Lottie (both Labs) later that year I was always hopeful that we would be able to get out and about again and carry on with those crazy adventures. Sadly that didn’t happen. For a variety of totally different reasons I wasn’t able to take the dogs into the hills and once I’d walked the dogs locally my ageing carcass wasn’t up for taking any further punishment. On a number of occasions I gave it a tentative go both in terms of hiking and blogging but in reality the glorious expeditions of the Fatdog days had ended. About a year and a half ago I accepted that I would not be going back up into the mountains.

But all is not lost. A rather sad event has led to an opportunity to once again head out the door and find some adventure although of a much less strenuous nature than what has gone before.

At the end of November we had to say goodbye to Mabel. She’d been with us for 10 years arriving only a couple of months before Lottie. Mabel must have been the most unlucky dog in the world – it seemed we were never out of the Vets surgery; but vet visits not withstanding I’d never met a happier dog.

Mabel 20/08/2012 – 25/11/2022

With Mabel gone we decided that Lottie needed to be out and about much more often than we’d been able to achieve with both dogs. Now that I had only one dog to deal with it also meant I could do more – and take Lottie with me, something I’d not been able to do with both awkward canines.

So…as therapy for both myself and Lottie I decided that we would kick off a new set of adventures – back into the murky world of geocaching. For those of you who remember my. previous exploits many years back you will no doubt remember the silliness that ensued. I expect it to be no different this time around. Only a few days back I joined a Facebook group – you will not believe the skulduggery that goes on in such a “polite” hobby! But that is for another day. Thank you all for having been with me all through the years. I would be most pleased if you would care to join myself and “Not Fit for Purpose” at our latest venue https://thereluctantgeocacher.co.uk/ .

Lottie aka “Not Fit for Purpose”

The new blog:

The Reluctant Geocacher

8 thoughts on “Moving On”

  1. So sorry about Mabel….some dogs just seem to be born to have constant vet visits.
    Hanging upside own under bridges…not to be attempted in Costa Rica unless you fancy a crocodile hanging on to your backside. I see Lottie had more sense.

    Like

    1. Thanks Helen. We miss Mabel a lot – she had a big personality.

      Having spent many years hanging about below bridges (ahem) – I am rather glad there are no crocs (to my best knowledge) in rivers and burns in Central Scotland. The worst thing I ever came up against was a build up of circa 100 years of pigeon poo. On reflection the crocs may have been a more desirable option.

      As for Lottie having any form of sense whatsoever – well that remains to be seen. Spoiler – don’t get your hopes up.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to see you are back, Ken. Missed hearing about your adventures which always made me smile. Sorry to hear about Mabel and I have good memories of Maisie. Remember if you are at anytime out West give me a shout. Irene

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Irene…my goodness it’s been a while! I still frequently recount the epic story of me and Maisie being stuck on Arran with your walking club lol. Thanks for the commiserations re Mabel but also my thanks for the comment – greatly appreciated. Hope you’ll drop in on the new blog from time to time – it will no doubt end up as ridiculous as the old one. Next time we’re out west I’ll let you know.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Ken

    Just when I’d forgotten about you, there you are!

    So sorry to hear about Mabel, I know it’s heartbreaking to lose them. Hope you’ve been able to remember the good times. I still look at photos of my dog Harry from over 20 years ago and still miss him.

    I’ll be checking out the new blog as your posts always make me smile

    All the best

    Andy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Andy

      I have to admit I didn’t think I’d be writing on here again. It just doesn’t seem 10 years since I was telling everyone about us losing Maisie. There had been no plans to start a new blog but with Mabel going I really wanted to make sure Lottie was kept busy…and tbh I needed to get back on the move once more. There was also the challenge of giving Lottie an online personality just as I did for Maisie. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to recreate some of that original nonsense and quite frankly if I can’t do that using the somewhat bizarre hobby of geocaching then I’d better give up now and go and watch some daytime tv lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Now it's your turn...