Tilting at Windmills

“Fortune is arranging matters for us better than we could have
shaped our desires ourselves, for look there, friend Sancho Panza,
where thirty or more monstrous giants present themselves, all of
whom I mean to engage in battle and slay, and with whose spoils we
shall begin to make our fortunes; for this is righteous warfare, and
it is God’s good service to sweep so evil a breed from off the face of
the earth.”

“What giants?” said Sancho Panza.

“Those thou seest there,” answered his master, “with the long
arms, and some have them nearly two leagues long.”

“Look, your worship,” said Sancho; “what we see there are not giants
but windmills, and what seem to be their arms are the sails that
turned by the wind make the millstone go.”

“It is easy to see,” replied Don Quixote, “that thou art not used to
this business of adventures; those are giants; and if thou art afraid,
away with thee out of this and betake thyself to prayer while I engage
them in fierce and unequal combat.”

Miguel de Cervantes (1547 – 1616)

.

I’ve noticed in areas of the Blogosphere a great deal of controversy arising from the building of windfarms in Scotland.  In general the overall opinion appears less than enthusiastic…to the point of hostility. Leaving aside the debate on economics, profiteering and efficiency and looking purely at the aesthetics…I quite like them.  In fact they’re a damn sight more interesting than some of the terrain on which they sit.  Although I’ve covered a fair bit of hillside over the years I’m not a great lover of vast expanses of bleak moorland and hillside.  I much prefer more “interesting” terrain, something with a bit of character.   Where I’ve come across these monstrous giants I haven’t been crying in my beer.   But that’s a personal view.

Any other closet “don’t really bother me” heretics out there?  😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Tilting at Windmills”

    1. Visitor numbers have been down Phil 😦 … needed something to stimulate a bit of interest.

      If this doesn’t work I’m going to put forward my proposals for a postumous honourary knighthood for bin Laden and a demand for Alexander Boris de Pfeffel Johnson to be made Prime Minister. Both totally ridiculous suggestions…but wouldn’t the second be fun! 😀

  1. I agree with you Ken if the wind farms stay as they are at present,on bogs and unattractive lands(to human eyes anyway) but the scale of proposed development means that soon world class views may be in the firing line too.It is also annoying that the taxpayer has to fork out large amounts of money every time they are taken offline during a storm if they generate excess electricty for the grid yet they want to build more! Where,s the sense it that?
    I think they should invest more in wave technology instead though no doubt that will have an as yet unforeseen drawback as well.
    Having cycled around two of the biggest windfarms in Scotland on so called family friendly bike tracks,promoted as a grand day out, I,d give them a zero out of ten for scenic adventure….But then….. I,m not a family:0).

  2. On the plus side, Bob – if you’re at the wind farm looking out – then in all probability you won’t be looking at a wind farm. 😉

    The tracks are not that family friendly either. Went to the one overlooking Carron Reservoir and couldn’t get Maisie past the two cattle grids at the very start! No bypass gate. 😦

  3. On a PURELY aesthetic basis; yes, I quite like them. Years ago they stuck some up near Barnsley, on the edge of the Peak District National Park. They always cheer me up as I see them driving home from my occasional forays up Bleaklow. (Another featureless, peaty wasteland.)

    1. Well done MrP – for sticking to the real point of the post. 😀 This is not an easy task when someone uses the words “windfarm” and “like” on the same page. Bob tried hard, but then the desperate need to insert a “but…” clause became too much. 😆 😉

      Had one loom spectacularly out of low lying cloud as I drove down the ’74 a couple of weeks ago. Worth the trip just to see that!

  4. Unless my eyes deceive me that appears to be a ZL700 model wind turbine – easily my favourite turbine. The TL650 is a close second however. I’m just glad that I’ve managed to find a reasonable and unbiased blog concerning my passion. The number of dislikers seems to heavily outweigh those of myself and my fellow ‘turbites’.

    If you would like to trade pictures on favourite turbines then I have a wonderful collection available. Please let me know.

    Keep up the good work and welcome to the ‘turbite’ fold.

    1. Oh my goodness…where do I start WTF! Before I slap you (metaphorically speaking) around the head let me thank you very much for posting 😀 .

      I’m so glad I was able to write a post that captured your imagination…limited though it may be.

      Fortunately you are in luck and I do have quite a number of photographs of various types of wind turbine…some of which show the much sought after indication of movement of the propeller.

      As for trading pictures…please consider the set I have emailed as a gift. I send them on the basis that you delete this blog from your list of favourites and conveniently forget its existence.

      Many thanks again for your valued contribution. 😀

  5. LOL!!! I am one of those strange persons who kind of likes them. Admittedly, we don’t have many here in good ole’ NZ. However, as far as I am concerned that is a serious failing, as they are absolutely preferable to the hydro electric schemes we seem determined to ruin our rivers & landscapes with.

    🙂 Annie

    1. HI ANNIE!!!!!

      Great to hear from you again. 😀

      Um…I quite like the Hydro’s as well. Oddly I haven’t heard anybody up in arms about them – though I believe these days the ones that are being built are much smaller affairs than the ones that were constructed many years ago. In fact our older hydro stations are almost historical buildings. They have a period feel to them especially the ones that have been well preserved. I wish I new more about them – when they were constructed etc.

Now it's your turn...

