Home Alone – Day 3

It’s been 8 weeks since I took the jump and began my early retirement, but with J having started back at school this week the long holiday has ended and it’s only now I’ve been left “home alone”.  As I write I’ve just completed Day 3…and am noticeably unsettled.  It’s odd getting up at a regular 7am, then not going anywhere.  For some reason it doesn’t feel right…probably near 40 years worth of reasons all told.

Being a control freak I’ve taken to planning out a few odds and sods for the following day so that I’m not totally directionless.  I was so busy the first couple of mornings I kept falling asleep in the afternoon as I sat down to watch TV coverage of La Vuelta, the cycling Tour of Spain.  By now some of you will be saying, “A wee nap in the afternoon…just the thing for a pensioner.” It’s not the wee nap I’m objecting to; it’s the fact that I missed the end of the race…twice.

But I cured that sleepiness today…oh yes I did!    Out came the Gaggia from which I produced a very large latte with double+ espresso.  It’s 10.35pm and I’m writing this wee post for the blog because I still show no signs of tiredness.  Maybe I’ll cut down on the caffeine tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Home Alone – Day 3”

  1. LOL! Just continue experimenting, you’ll eventually develop a routine that works. In my other life (working life) I was most organized and predictable. Six years of retirement has destroyed
    my organizational style, and I have no style now. I don’t seem to be suffering from it, but when I think about it, seems a bit odd.

    My least favorite task now is having to go ANYWHERE at a specific time. I hate appointments.
    I like the free-flowing days without any obligations at all. I still enjoy getting up rather early (5:30-6AM). Sleeping in has never been one of my preferences.

    It’ll be interesting to see your evolved lifestyle in about 5 years.

    1. The main challenge would appear to be not fossilising in the next 5 years…or not ODing on caffeine. 😆

  2. I`m partial to a wee snooze myself around 4pm Ken 🙂

    I suspect that J will soon get fed up with your slothful ways and burden you with a list of chores that require attending to each morning. You will need to get over any guilt feelings that you may harbour when the poor wife toddles off to work on a dreary and miserable winters morning. 🙂

    Seriously, I don`t turn on the tv at all before 6pm and I try and do one useful thing each day around the house.If the weather is good i go up a hill though 🙂

    1. You mean the typewritten tome that she hands out each day as she leaves for work Alex? Yep…on the plus side my brain is quite adept at finding lots of reasons why things are not done…for the moment. 😆

      Good advice. If it wasn’t for the cycling that’s on just now our tv wouldn’t be on either. I admit to adopting the “do one useful thing each day” approach myself, if only to keep me sane…or maybe we’re too late for that.

Now it's your turn...

