I have in my hands a piece of paper.

I have in my hands a piece of paper.

Strictly speaking I had in my hands a piece of paper…then I signed it and handed it in.  It was a very nice piece of paper with lots of exciting words on it, the sort of words that inspire envy in some and longing in most.  The very nice piece of paper included the very nice words – early retirement and pension, not to mention lots of other nice words such as compensatory.

For 24 hours the sky cried huge blobby tears at my forthcoming departure as did my heartbroken colleagues…at least that’s what I think they were doing behind cupped hands.  The mass hysteria surrounding my imminent departure was most touching.  I had been expecting the Cromwellian outburst last used against the ailing Neville Chamberlain…

 “You have sat here too long for any good you are doing. Depart, I say, and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!”

…which, quite frankly, I thought more in keeping with the nature of such events.

The early departure, although in the planning since the…ahem…1980’s, has happened almost overnight.  I went from “doubtful” to “bye-bye” in a matter of a couple of days!

Now, at last, the blog can settle down to some regular input on my part.  I’ve no doubt some of you have noticed the absence of regular posts over the past months and my general absence from other blogs.  This has been in part down to the “am I going? – am I not?” situation which has gone on for a l-o-n-g  20+ months now…a long time to sit on the edge of uncertainty.

Knowing how despondent my workmates are with my leaving tomorrow, I thought I’d provide them with a little anthem that they could sing every time they thought of me.

Come on lads…press the play button below, turn up the volume and sing it like you mean it!

27 thoughts on “I have in my hands a piece of paper.”

  1. Congratulations, Ken!

    A small tip here – get up at the same time for a while. There is immense pleasure to be gained from gazing through the window with a cup of tea and the morning paper … watching all your neighbours setting off to work.

    Schadenfreude – it’s a wonderful feeling.

    1. Was thinking that this morning Phil as Maisie and I wandered back to the house. All those commuters who rush past us every morning whether walking or on bikes and never saying hello – we won’t be seeing them again anytime soon! 😀 They must have wondered why I was grinning at them today. 😆

    1. Saga!!! As I recall you’re exactly 8 days older than me Mr. Myles 😆 . So…any free clothes for me to trial then?

  2. Oh, my… and here I thought you might be on holiday now! I’m so pleased you found a way to to this while you’re still young, and have so many interests to pursue. Now you can do it on your own schedule, without the “inconvenience” of working. However, if it weren’t for the work, there’d be no retirement, another one of life’s trade-offs. It took me at least a year to do the math and planning for retirement. You can’t just one day decide to retire, and walk out….. it’s a balancing act involving high stakes…. yourself and your family.

    No doubt you’ll be missed. Work will go on. Ken will be missed. All good.

    Florene

    1. Hi Florene 😀 . There’s been a threat to our pensions for a while now (Public Sector) so I’d decided to get a hold of mine before they did something nasty to the rules. With a public sector pay freeze in place my salary wasn’t going to rise anyway in the next few years so, all in all, it was time to get out.

  3. Ah, if only the end of employment really meant the end of work… now you’ll have no reason to avoid all those odd jobs that you’ve been putting on the back-burner, all those “I could do with you lending me a hand for a few days” calls, all those “you should devote more time to me” proclamations. 🙂

    Put great effort into keeping in touch with and meeting up with your workmates – it’s all too easy to let friendships slip away. If you’re not careful, you can end up with very few close friends but lots of acquaintances that only call you when they want something.

    Good luck, Ken. I hope you enjoy your hard-earned freedom.

    1. You’re right Stef – now the real work begins 😆 . There’s a big list waiting for me of jobs that have been put off. This will involve a continuous stream of skips at the front door to remove all of our accumulated rubbish (loft, shed, garage etc.)

      A group of us who worked together from the 1980’s – ’96 (until reorganisation of local government in Scotland) still meet up regularly – some 15 years after we broke up as a section.! ‘In fact I understand they’re already planning the retirement bash! 😀

    1. I was approached almost a couple of years back – thought I was going then was told – “sorry – not at this time”. It seems that “this time” has now arrived. It did take its toll though…it’s been a long haul since that first approach.

      Hope to get to do some walking after the hols. 😀

      But first…there’s a fair bit of wine to consume 😆 .

  4. You will not regret it for one minute Ken . The true secret of retirement is too make it plainly obvious to J that your retirement also applies to DIY in the house 🙂
    Join the club..!!
    £130 for a week,flight and accomodation,in Gran Canaria right now.I

    1. You really think that’s a viable option Alex? Just out of curiosity – how much success have you had with that particular line? 😉

  5. Great news! I know the relief you must be feeling after this has been hanging over you for so long. Enjoy your early retirement from the daily job and welcome to the world of your own time.

    1. Thanks Sheila – looking forward to it! 😀

      I think the term “your own time” may be a bit previous. Someone is busy making a big long list of jobs. In fact guess who was pegging out washing before going back for his last afternoon at work! It’s started already! 😦 😆

    1. Thanks “Just Ramblin’” – Day 1 of ER – still a bit bewlidered, but I think I’ll get used to it…very soon! 😀

  6. Sadly Mr.P I’ve already sunk into a wonderfully comfy rocking chair from where I am penning this reply. It’s 30C here at Coulonge (near Cognac) and it’s 8.20pm. Maybe I’ll get fit when I get back 😆 .

  7. I would have thought there is plenty of chateauneuf du pape to be drunk before you contemplate any hills! Congratulations.

    1. Ain’t no hills in the Cognac Tessa. I suspect that’s why J suggested coming here. We’re into Bordeaux at the minute…or will be very shortly :D. Just about picked up a White Chateauneuf in the supermarket earlier today.

    1. Thanks David 😀 ,

      It happened very quickly at the end. Went from maybe one week, to letter on the following Tuesday – gone by Thursday! Didn’t have any chance to take it all in or do all the goodbyes. Still not convinced I should’t be turning up this morning 😆

      How about you? Still happy with part-retirement?

      1. It’s certainly much better than full time but I think you’ve got the best deal. Maybe I should’ve held off but you make the decision on the offer at the time. Anyways, enough whinging, you have a great retirement & keep blogging

        1. Thanks David…you’ve no idea how disappointed I am at not being able to come down to Earl’s Road to carry out the QA Audit any more. Did I really say that? Just as well I didn’t really mean it. 😉

          Hope the escape committee keep the tunnel open for you.

Now it's your turn...

