Accidental Hill Bagging for Beginners

Perth from Moncreiffe Hill

An odd thing happened this weekend…I bagged a hill.  I bagged a Marilyn to be precise.  I bagged Moncreiffe Hill just outside Perth.  I didn’t mean to bag it.  I didn’t even know I had bagged it – other than the obvious cairn and the distinct lack of any further “up” in a 360 degree, all round, view.  And I certainly didn’t set out to bag it.  It sort of got bagged by accident.  In fact I didn’t realise I had bagged it until I got home.  It’s quite worrying to be sitting quietly at the keyboard and have the sudden thought, “Did I bag a hill today?” then find you have…and didn’t realise it.   I put it down to the ageing process.

After dropping out of the whole hill bagging thingy it’s exceedingly disconcerting to find one has inadvertently bagged yet another bloody hill!  Who gave it the right to sit there tricking reformed baggers into bagging it!  Now the urge is back to bag another one!

But here’s the rub…can I actually bag a hill if I didn’t know I was climbing one and didn’t know I’d bagged it (or not) at the time of arriving at the summit?  That’s a 3 glass of red wine problem at least!

But enough of exclamation marks; what about geocaching…yes, geocaching!

Oops there’s another one of those exclamation marks.

We went to our first geocaching event yesterday.  Nope, I really don’t have the strength to tell you about that yet, sorry.  I haven’t had nearly enough wine for that.  Without going into detail I think I now see why geocaching is mainly a solitary occupation…and should probably remain so.

6 thoughts on “Accidental Hill Bagging for Beginners”

  1. Over here, when you “bag” something, it means you quit whatever it was you were doing. I “bagged it”. I looked in Wikipedia and found in Scotland it has a completely different meaning, which I’d assumed by what you’d written. I learned something today….. thanks to you! ;o)

    “Peak bagging (also hill bagging, mountain bagging, Munro bagging,[1] or among enthusiasts, just bagging) is an activity in which hillwalkers and mountaineers attempt to reach the summit of some collection of peaks, usually those above some height in a particular region, or having a particular feature.
    Peak bagging can be distinguished from highpointing. In peak bagging, the targets are the peaks of mountains or hills, and the popular lists usually require that the target pass some threshold of prominence. In highpointing, the goal is only to reach the highest point in some geographic area (e.g., county, state, or country), whether or not it is a peak.”

  2. That’s the easy bit…the debate then rages over what you should have done to “bag” your mountain. Sounds so simple but in some cases the mountain may have a rock at the summit then the arguement is over whether you need to stand on top of the rock or merely touch it. Personally if I’ve hauled myself up 3000′ of hill I’m not too worried about the niceties!

    1. You’re supposed to provide a big, long, list Tessa…so I don’t fell quite such a numpty. 😆

  3. Crinkle Crags Long Top (a Hewitt – Adrian told me)
    Simon Fell (another Hewitt – Yorkshire)
    Several Welsh Marilyns I climbed loads of times as a kid…

    Oh and Glastonbury Tor is a ‘sub-marilyn’ – climbed that loads of times.

    1. Oh…I may have done the last one…J will remember. Those were scrumpy days so it’s a bit hazy.

      Well done on ‘fessin’ up…you’ll feel better after that! 😀

      I notice that there have been no “mistakes” north of the border. 😉

Now it's your turn...

