Stop/Start/Stop/Start/STOP!

A cautionary comment by the vet and a more definite pronouncement by the physiotherapist has resulted in the GPS being loaded up with the coordinates of those wee hidden plastic tubs.   Once more The Fatdog and I have made an enforced retreat from lofty summits to somewhat more sedate terrain.  Geocaching is back in vogue here at The Fatdog Broadcasting Corporation.

The vet reckoned FD (now 8 years old) should be taking things a bit easier than rampaging up and down steep mountains.  More worryingly he took one look at me, shook his head and reached under a black cloth to pull out an ominous looking syringe.  I hobbled out of the surgery before he could do the humane thing, The Fatdog close on my heels.

A further setback was encountered at my final “back class” where the physio strenuously suggested my hillwalking exploits were more than my sorry carcase could cope with.  When I mentioned my most recent ailment, a narsty pain in my left knee (prevalent on steep descents) he took one look at me, shook his head and reached under a black cloth to pull out an ominous looking syringe…

With both recent health reports suggesting an accelerated route to the glue factory should FD and I not mend our wayward hillwalking ways, I have conceded defeat and am in the process of modifying our walking plans (for the nth time).

14 thoughts on “Stop/Start/Stop/Start/STOP!”

  1. It’s good that you can make emerging disabilities humorous.
    In fact, if you can find anything humorous about curtailing beloved activities, keep a pocket full at your disposal wherever you are, and share it with comrades.

    I’m surrounded by family with serious limitations. However, there’s one individual who’s breaking all the records…. my former mother-in-law. She’ll be 100 in August, lives alone in a 3BR home, bakes pies and cakes for her church, and is the designated driver for her lady friends. The other side of her coin is, most of her friends are gone, and she has very few close family or friends anymore. Sometimes I think dementia is a good thing! It’s awful for caregivers, but an “escape” for the demented. That’s an over-simplification, I know, but an observation nonetheless.

    Old Lady Kunder ;o)

  2. My goodness Florene…your former ma-in-law is one tough old bird! Good on her! I remember one of our friends talking about his ageing father-in-law as he worked his way through his Christmas card list. Looking down the list he checked off the names one at a time…”Deid (dead) …deid …deid …deid …”

    I’ve retired from hillwalking at least half a dozen times in the past 3 years (lol) … I’ve only been hillwalking for 4! That’s what comes of starting late. The reason I’m more serious about stopping this time is that the problems have been getting that wee bit worse each time I start back and now I seem to have a problem knee as well. There’s also the fact that Maisie is getting older and Labs are notorious for leg problems. So with the vet telling me that she should be taking it a bit easier it made the decision fairly simple this time. Thankfully I’m very good at switching hobbies…it’s something I’ve done regularly over the years which is probably why I can happily shrug things off and start up something different.

  3. Me too, on the switching hobbies, or just about anything else. There’s always a Plan B,C, D etc. I’ve never been bored or lacked something to do. That probably comes from being raised in a very dysfunctional family, and I had to make my own decisions, and create my own fantasy life until I could get outta there ASAP. I left home right after high school and forged ahead to college…. penniless, but so happy to be free. Back then jobs were plentiful…. especially part time, so I got through school and REALLY felt free then. It was glorious! Unfortunately, my social life was nil, but you can’t have it all. I made up for that deficit rather quickly. ;o)

    1. Usually my hobbies last a couple of years then I move on. The hillwalking holds quite a record – for me. I’ve gone rock hunting…cut and polished agate…collected stamps…built up a CD collection to mimic my old 1970’s vinyl albums …played guitar in folk clubs… played squash and badminton. Tried to get into photography (but keep forgetting how to use my DSLR lol) Most of these lasted a couple of years at a time. Now I do a confused mixture. 😀

  4. Right. Your scottish, so you’re allowed one “Doomed, we’re all doomed” post .
    Next time I expect to hear about one of the thoosints of great walks in Central Scotland, albeit assisted by miles of elasticated strapping and handfuls of co-codamol. And that’s just the dug !

    1. I do this post at regular 6 monthly intervals – ask MrP – he’s been subjected to it more than most. We’ve been doomed so many times I’ve a line of Grim Reapers permanently stationed in our street…just on the off chance I actually mean it this time. 😀

    1. I’m afraid the bits are scattered further apart than before MrP and as a result their collection may take some time. FD and I are heading out for a walk today so I’ll have a better idea of how things are going after that. 😀

  5. I’m with OM, Ken – You can’t stop now! I’m currently back & forwards to the Nephrology Clinic, having to deal with their usual doom & gloom shit. As far as I’m concerned I would rather keel over on the hill than in a dialysis ward.
    Keep up with the fat shaggy dog stories, Sir!

    1. It’s not really a question of stopping Alan, more about finding the limits before I do too much permanent damage. I think of hillwalking as working through the listed hills…because that’s what I did. Anything else I class as walking. I’m now researching easy tracks on lower hills and easy tracks on the big hills with a high start. One thing I found out in the past couple of weeks is that I need to keep off rough terrain as my balance is currently shot to buggery due to the leg muscles being so tight.

      I do have to cut the distance down though as FD is beginning to look less happy on a longer day.

      Luckily it doesn’t take much to create a fat shaggy dog story 😆

  6. I just went to Flickr and was browsing a friend’s new photos, one of which was of him sitting down focused on Spring wildflowers. Someone asked about his sitting, and he said he bought a “walk stool” years ago and never goes anywhere on a photo shoot without it. Also said it was one of the best things he ever bought. He’s not a lightweight, and the stool is strong enough for him, and then some.

    http://www.walkstool.com/uk/product/indexframe.html

    1. Thanks for the link Florene and the Facebook link. 😀

      I’ve seen bird watchers out with those stools.

      Also a cracking idea for camera work. Would be great on the coastal walks as I tend to stop a lot to take snaps.

      As I found out yesterday stopping for a seat is a bad idea – took me about 10 minutes to get the legs working properly afterwards! 😆

  7. Only just read this – sorry to hear about yours and FD’s problems. Hope the legs/ knees etc make a good recovery.

  8. Thanks Tessa 😀 .

    There is a fair bit of exercising/stretching/losing weight going on here just now and I reckon if I pick up a support for my knee (just in case) we’ll manage a bit more. The Fatdog and I still have a few hills left to do.

    As far as Maisie is concerned her hill days will be shorter and without steep ascents/descents – her boulderfield days are behind her as I don’t fancy having to carry her off a hill! 😆 You’re not going to see a repeat of the Lochnagar round or the mad day when we did 3 and a bit Tyndrum Munros. I’m busy plotting a number of routes that will allow us to keep going for a bit longer.

    Why, you may ask, given the content of the above post are we trying to get back to the hills when we’ve said we’re giving up for good. Believe me it’s out of necessity.

    And the reason…we went to a geocaching meet!

    The “Tail” will follow.

Now it's your turn...

