Walking and Listening

It’s been a busy week with, thankfully, no further blog changes! šŸ˜€Ā  Did I detect a few mutterings of “Thank God for that!”?

Last weekend… FD and I took a walk up Fankerton Glen in the offchance that we would bask in some glorious sunshine…this didn’t happen.Ā  Armed with both cameras in the anticipation of stunning early spring light and shade we were met instead by the usual Scottish, cloud soaked, dull grey.

FD on the trail
The most pointless (new) gate in the world!

On the gently sloping paths my legs complained nastily – a resumption of the perennial problem, but at least The Fatdog was happy.

Happy, happy, happy!

.

.

Tuesday… found Cap’n Jack, The Fatdog and I back on our travels; this time on the Fife Coastal Path.Ā  The Cap’n had never been before so we visited what is currently my favourite section from Elie to St. Monans.Ā  With both of us crocked we left the walking poles behind…and took the zimmers instead.Ā  There will be more about that trip in the coming days.

This is St Monans...taken from some distance away using the wee Fuji on max zoom...a great wee camera.
You may gather that walking was not considered the main activity of the day.
Not exactly the Cuillin ridge but sometimes one has to make do.

.

Important note:

I’ve just noticed that the photos are a lot clearer if you click on them and view what I assume is the original file photo. Ā  Something to remember for future visits as well. šŸ˜€

.

.

The great John Peel will be turning in his grave…

I’ve begun delving into the darkest depths of my CD collection seeking out songs and bands that have some vague connection to my past.Ā  This is terribly bad news for you given that I have also added an update to the blog which allows me to play music (until the copyright gestapo catch up with me).Ā  Todays offering marked what was my return to buying music and updating my CD collection after the mandatory 11 year “kiddy” absence.Ā  I remember going out…purchasing a music mag with a cover CD and hearing this track by Jimmy Page and Robert Plant, complete with Egyptian orchestra – “Nobody’s Fault But Mine”.Ā  Took me back to listening to the likes of the Incredible String Band where all manner of weird and wonderful instruments began to make an appearance.Ā  This is a damn sight tighter and more bluesy but has a “non mainstream” feel which I like a lot.Ā  (the intro doesn’t kick in immediately…so please be patient :D)

Go on!Ā  Push the play button below…

“Nobody’s Fault But Mine”

…and remember to crank up the volume! Ā  šŸ˜€

The CD Cover

wordpress analytics

10 thoughts on “Walking and Listening”

  1. Your St Monans photo is a perfect painting. The photo is excellent, but it does look like a museum painting.
    That’s clever, even if unintentional.

  2. Sitting in my office at work on a cold wet Friday morning, I played the track loudly which made me feel good. I might have to see if I can get the disc as the Gallows Pole was a favourite track many years ago!

    Enjoying the ‘new’ blog too Ken.

    Cheers

  3. Thanks Iain šŸ˜€ . Glad you like the new blog…I’m thinking of keeping this incarnation for at least another week. šŸ˜‰

    I found the 90’s sound to be much fuller than the original Led Zeppelin. I thought it was especially noticeable on “Kashmir” when playing the old and new back-to-back.

  4. Won’t your fingers get over-itchy if you leave the blog unchanged for another week? When I clicked on a photo to ‘see it more clearly’ (it seemed ok anyway) I had some difficulty getting back to the blog!
    Like the Canaletto BTW.

  5. It’s a struggle Martin…but I’m determined…at least another week! šŸ˜€

    Getting back from the photos has to be by the “back” button on the toolbar on your browser. Sorry šŸ˜¦ . WordPress don’t seem to have built in a facility into their blogging system to do this manoeuvre from within the blog itself.

  6. Love the Plant / Page track, Ken. Even better, at last I’ve found somebody who climbs hills and likes the ISB. A wee related story. Last week my 15 year old son had to play guitar and record “Houses of the Holy” as part of his Intermediate 2 Music exam. His cousins were to play bass guitar and drums. – They play in various local Stirling bands. However, at the very last moment they couldn’t make it due to a flood in the guitar shop which one of them owns. So my son had to play and record “Pretty Woman” instead, backed by his music teacher. This shouldn’t affect his grade but imagine the damage to his credibility. All the best, Russell

  7. Thanks Russell šŸ˜€ There’s a few closet ISB fans on the hillwalking circuit…from one weird pastime to another methinks. Either that or it was just a mix up with Irritable Bowel Syndrome and age has everyone jumbling up the letters. Mind you some have expressed a preference for the latter over the former! šŸ˜‰

    A bit of a come down for the poor lad…still that sort of humiliation will be character forming! Something you will no doubt remind him of when chores are needing done. šŸ˜€

Now it's your turn...

